The Tyrannosaurus Rex is Our Friend

OK, so I’m assuming that anyone reading this has had some sort of weird, freaky dream that scared the crap out of you.  When I was little, I had nightmares that positively traumatized me.  For years, even thinking about them terrified me.  One in particular stands out a lot more than the others, and I remember it very, very clearly.

In my nightmare, I was back at preschool with all of my friends.  My friend and I had an ice cream shop near the back of the playground, and we went to go get ourselves some ice cream.  On the way there, two identical twin princes from a Barbie story were following us (I was obsessed with Barbie at the time of this dream).  Anyways, they were in love with me and my friend, which is why they were secretly following us around.

The nightmare skips from that scene to a different one.  Several of my friends and I were flying around the sandbox in circles.  We went around and around super fast, until all of a sudden the flying in circles teleported us to the dinosaur age.  Now, at six years old, I had a misunderstanding of how dinos lived.  I had assumed that all of the dinosaurs just lived in one huge, barren area and existed like that.  So, in my dream, there was a huge flat plain with every single dinosaur that ever existed.  It was complete chaos.  Of course, me and my friends all ran into the long white building that just happened to be there.  As you can tell, no one had bothered to explain to me that buildings don’t just appear in the middle of dinosaur land, but whatever.

So we all ran into the building and got as far away from the door as possible.  The next part of this nightmare is the most bizarre part of it all.  A raptor stuck its head in the door… and some CHICKEN that suddenly appeared PECKED THE RAPTOR’S HEAD OFF.  Um.  What?  After this strange turn of events, someone’s parents knocked on the door and we let them in before some carnivorous dino decided they looked like cheeseburgers or something.

The last part of my nightmare is me walking outside when a T-REX offers to help us get away.

Now do you see why I’m such a weirdo?  I might have actually turned out normal if it wasn’t for these horrifying nightmares that I got.  And I still get weird dreams.  Just last night, I had a dream where my best friend came out as lesbian and her grandparents turned into evil homophobic monsters who imprisoned her inside her own home.  My role in that dream was, of course, supporting my best friend and freaking out her grandparents by talking about all my LGBT friends.  This dream was disturbing, mostly because her grandparents are actually super awesome not-homophobic people.  I could go on for HOURS about all my dreams, but that would be a very long, very boring post so I’m just going to wrap it up.

Thanks for reading, and remember: don’t fly in circles around a sand box!

Yours Truly,

Whatever I Write

Leave a comment